Meet the physician teams headed to the 2024 Olympic Games

As athletes prepare to head to Paris for the 2024 Olympic Games, so are their physician care teams. 

In July, 30 United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee sports medicine staff members and 28 additional medical professionals will travel with Team USA to the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games. 

The medical professionals will provide holistic care for over 850 athletes representing the U.S. in 53 sports. 

Physicians selected to travel with the team are licensed physicians, athletic trainers, chiropractors, massage therapists, physical therapists and psychological services practitioners who have been credentialed for at least three years and who have completed an exhaustive selection process. 

Around half of the medical professionals traveling with the team do so as volunteers. 

Gloria Beim, MD, an orthopedic surgeon and sports medicine specialist at Gunnison (Colo.) Valley Orthopedics and Sports Medicine Clinic, will lead the care team as Team USA's head physician for the 2024 games. This will be her fourth Olympic games. 

Here are the 58 providers in charge of treating Team USA in 2024: 

Olympic Games staff members 

Jessica Bartley, PsyD

Amo Bolorin

Joann Brito

Angel Brutus, PsyD

Julia Cawthra, PhD

Kristen Cooper, PsyD

Alexander Cushing, PsyD

Amber Donaldson

Jim Doorley, PhD

John Faltus

Lorin Ferrell

Jonathan Finnoff, DO

Lex Gidley, PhD

Caitlin Gregg

Kevin Pierce

Kweku Ramel Smith, PhD

Ben Towne

Kelcie Wittman

Olympic Games volunteers

Anthony Beutler, MD

Gloria Beim, MD

Wazim Buksh, MD

Tim Chien

Michael Fanning

Matt Hartsburg

Benedict Ifedi, MD

Steve Isono, MD

Wendy Mehaffey

Tama McKay

Marc Philippon, MD

Margot Putukian, MD

Ed Strapp

Neal Stepp

David Weinstein, MD

Lydia White, MD

Scott Young, MD

Jason Zaremski, MD

Paralympic Games staff members

Mac Brown, PsyD

Emily Clark, PsyD

Alex Cohen, PhD

Amber Donaldson

Jonathan Finnoff, DO 

Caroline Kannel

Jordan Knowlton-Key

Chris Lefever

Jayme Shelton, PsyD

Jenna Wilkeson

Lea Thomann

Jennifer Watters

Paralympic Games volunteers

James Barnes, MD

Kelley Becherer

Heather Hammonds, MD

Nikki Havel

Mark Hutchinson, MD

Carrie Jaworski, MD

Monica Johnson

Debra Pear

Victor Reyes

Kyle Southall

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast