The physicians at the helm of Mayo Clinic

Rochester, Minn.-based Mayo Clinic is one of the largest physician groups in the United States based on the number of physicians it employs. 

Here are the three physician leaders at the helm of the healthcare organization, which has major campuses in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota:

Gianrico Farrugia, MD: President and CEO

Dr. Farrugia has been a Mayo Clinic physician for over three decades and was appointed president and CEO in 2019. He previously served as CEO of Mayo Clinic in Florida and is co-founder of the Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation, as well as a member on the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees and Governors.

Richard Gray, MD: CEO of Mayo Clinic Arizona

Dr. Gray treated patients as a surgical oncologist, specializing in breast cancer, melanoma and sarcoma before he was appointed CEO of Mayo Clinic's Arizona campus in 2019. He also held a variety of chair positions, including the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center in Arizona and Mayo Clinic’s Breast Specialty Council.

Kent Thielen, MD: CEO of Mayo Clinic Florida

Dr. Thielen has been a member of the Mayo Clinic staff for over two decades and served as chair of the Mayo Clinic Department of Radiology in the Midwest from 2013 to 2018 before being named CEO of the Florida campus in 2019. He is also a professor of radiology with the Mayo Clinic.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast

Top 40 articles from the past 6 months