Meet the leaders of the 5 largest physician groups

Here are the leaders of the five largest physicians groups:

Ramin Davidoff, MD, Executive Medical Director of the Southern California Permanente Medical Group. Dr. Davidoff has served as executive medical director and chair of the board for the Southern California Permanente Medical Group since Jan. 1, 2021. He is co-chief executive officer of the Permanente Federation, a consortium of all the Permanente Medical Groups.

He first joined SCPMG in 1992 as an intern in general surgery at Kaiser Permanente Los Angeles Medical Center. 

He also serves as chair of the board and CEO of The Southeastern Permanente Medical Group in Georgia, a board member of the Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine, and the chair and CEO of the Hawaii Permanente Medical Group.

Richard Isaacs, MD, CEO and Executive Director of the Permanente Medical Group. Dr. Isaacs is the CEO and executive director of the Permanente Medical Group, in addition to serving as president and CEO of the Mid-Atlantic Permanente Medical Group.

Dr. Isaacs first joined the Permanente Medical Group in 1995 as an otolaryngologist before becoming physician-in-chief for the Kaiser Permanente South Sacramento Medical Center. 

He currently serves on the board of directors for the Alliance of Community Health Plans, the American Medical Group Association and the Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine.

David Chernow, President and CEO of Select Medical Corporation. Mr. Chernow is president and CEO of Select Medical Corporation, which includes Select Physical Therapy. He has held this role since January 2014 and previously served as president and chief development and strategy officer.

Samuel Hazen, CEO of HCA Healthcare (Nashville, Tenn.). Mr. Hazen was appointed CEO of HCA Healthcare in January 2019 after serving as president and chief operating officer since 2016. He previously served as president of operations from 2011 to 2015.

Mr. Hazen currently serves on the board of directors for the Nashville Health Care Council, Federation of American Hospitals and the HCA Foundation. HCA includes HCA Florida Healthcare Physicians, one of the nation's largest physician groups. 

Gianrico Farrugia, MD: CEO of Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minn.). Dr. Farrugia has been with Mayo Clinic, which includes Mayo Clinic Physicians, for over three decades within the division of gastroenterology and hepatology and the departments of internal medicine, physiology and biomedical engineering.

He is the co-founder of the Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation and previously served as the director of the Center for Individualized Medicine at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., and CEO of Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Fla.

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast

Top 40 articles from the past 6 months